Home Olympics Curiosities, records and numbers you should know

Curiosities, records and numbers you should know

Curiosities, records and numbers you need to know

Since its establishment in 2014 Indian Super League (ISL) has been one of the pillars of Indian football.

With each passing season, ISL it had its breakthrough moments, which makes it richer in history. Statistics and records invariably played a huge role in this.

Looking back, here are some of the ones you need to know ISL statistics and records for every indian football fan.

ISL’s most successful team

ATKwith three ISL titles, he currently holds the title of the ISL’s most successful team all the time. The Kolkata team won the title in their inaugural season in 2014, followed by triumphs in 2016 and the 2019-20 campaign.

Spaniard Antonio Lopez Habas led the team during the 2014 and 2019-20 ISL victories, making him the only head coach to win multiple ISL titles, also with the same team.

Chennaiyin FC was a two-time champion, winning top honors in 2015 and 2017-18. Bengaluru FC won the title in the 2018–19 season.

The first scorer in the ISL

Ethiopian striker Fikru Teferra he will be permanently recorded in the ISL’s statistics and record books as the first goalscorer in ISL history. Playing for ATK against Mumbai City FC in the inaugural ISL match at Salt Lake Stadium in Kolkata on 12 October 2014, Fikru scored in the 27th minute. ATK won the match 3-0.

Balwant Singh he became India’s first goal scorer in the ISL after scoring for Chennaiyin FC in the 31st minute in Marina Machans’ 2-1 win over FC Goa in Fatorda on October 15, 2014.

Brazilian striker Mumbai City FC Andrew Moritz won first ever ISL hat-trick in his first season in a 5-0 win over FC Pune City on October 18, 2014.

The best scorer in the ISL

Current forward of Hyderabad FC Bartholomew Ogbeche leads the ISL statistics for goalscorers with 51 goals in 73 ISL matches. Bengaluru FC Sunil Chhetri scored 50 goals but in 111 games.

Chhetri is also India’s top goalscorer in the ISL, followed by Jeje Lalpekhlua.

The fastest goal scorer in the ISL

The Fastest ISL goal the goal was scored by ATK striker Mohun Bagan David Williams who netted in just 12 seconds against Hyderabad FC in the 2021-22 ISL on January 5, 2022.

Williams broke the record of former Jamshedpur FC winger Jerry Mawihmingthanga by scoring in 23 seconds against Kerala Blasters in the 2017-18 ISL.

The youngest goalscorer in the ISL

ATK winger Komala Thala holds the record of being youngest goalscorer in the ISL.

The youngster, then aged 18 years, 1 month and 13 days, scored in ATK’s 2-1 loss to Bengaluru FC in the 2018-19 ISL on 31 October 2018, erasing the previous record held by Jerry Lalrinzuala.

The youngest hat-trick scorer in the ISL

ATK striker Mohun Bagan Kiyan Nassiri is the youngest hat-trick scorer in the ISL.

The son of East Bengal legend Jamshed Nassiri, Kiyan Nassiri was 21 years, two months and 14 days old when he scored a hat-trick in ATKMB’s 3-1 win over SC East Bengal in the 2021-22 ISL season on January 29, 2022.

Kiyan Nassiri also became the first substitute to score a hat-trick in the Indian Super League and the youngest goalscorer in the history of ATK Mohun Bagan.

The biggest winning margin in ISL

FC Goa recorded largest winning margin in ISL until the day they beat Mumbai City FC 7-0 at Fatorda in ISL 2015. The match was played on November 17, 2015.

Dudu Omagbemi and Thongkhosiem Haokip scored hat-tricks each while Brazil’s Reinaldo scored the second goal for the Guars.

The match with the most goals in the ISL

The match with the highest number of goals in the ISL the story is an 11-goal romance between East Bengal and Odisha FC in ISL 2020-21. With both teams languishing at the bottom of the table and heading into the last game of their campaign, pride was the only incentive in the match.

East Bengal led 2-1 at half-time but Odisha FC rebounded to lead 6-3 in the second half. The Red and Golds saved two late goals to make it 6-5, but it was a little too late to avoid breaking the record.

For Odisha FC, Paul Ramfangzauva and Jerry Mawihmingthang scored twice each, while Welshman Aaron Amadi-Holloway scored twice for East Bengal.

Longest unbeaten streak in the ISL

FC Goa is a record holder longest unbeaten streak in the ISL. The Gaurs managed to break the streak ISL 2020-21.

After a shaky start to the campaign, FC Goa started their streak with a 2-1 win over Jamshedpur FC and went 13 matches unbeaten to qualify for the playoffs.

In the semi-finals, FC Goa drew 2-2 with Mumbai City FC in the first leg and led the Islanders to a 0-0 draw in the second. Unfortunately, the fight for the title ended with a 6:5 loss on penalties.

However, FIFA rules do not classify a knockout match decided on penalties as a losing team leaving the match. Instead, they are referred to as ties.

Hence FC Goa’s 2020-21 ISL undefeated streak is 15 – the longest in a single ISL season.

Longest streak in the ISL

Jamshedpur FC has the longest winning streak in the ISL. JFC won seven at a trot to claim their first League Winners’ Shield during the 2021-22 ISL.

They broke Bengaluru FC’s previous record of six consecutive wins set during the 2018-19 ISL.

Longest streak without a win in the ISL

SC East Bengal went 15 matches without a win in the 2020-21 and 2021-22 ISL, making him longest streak without a win by any ISL team to date. Their idle run lasted 347 days.

The longest losing streakhowever, it is under Dynamo in Delhi‘ name. The Lions lost six in a row in the 2017-18 season.

The longest goal in ISL history

Former Chennaiyin FC midfielder Rafael Crivellaro is a record holder longest goal scored in the ISL — 55 yards.

In a match between Chennaiyin and NorthEast United FC during the 2019-20 ISL, Rafael Crivellaro picked up the ball near the halfway line and released the ball from nearly 55 yards out. The Brazilian’s long-range shooter caught NorthEast Subhasish goalkeeper Roy Chowdhury from his line and landed in the back of the net.

The team with the most goals in the ISL

FC Goa were the team that scored the most goals in the history of the competition. After the end of the 2021-22 ISL, the Gaurs scored 267 goals in 150 matches.

Chennaiyin FC finished second in the leaderboard with 199 goals in 147 matches.

Previous articleNorth Carolina USA lands for the 2029 FISU World University Games
Next articleISF Attend the primary meeting of the High Level Group on Gender Equality in Sport


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here