FIFA World Cup Golden Boot Winners: Top scorers from each edition

On every FIFA World Cupwinning the coveted trophy is the goal of every footballer.

However, the world’s biggest football showcase also offers several individual awards at the end of each edition, giving players the opportunity to go down in the history books.

For example, the Golden Ball is awarded to the best player of each edition of the FIFA World Cup, while the Golden Glove goes to the goalkeepers with the most clean sheets. For players attacking the so-called FIFA World Cup Golden Bootawarded to the top scorer of each edition is the Holy Grail.

By the way, the Golden Boot award at the FIFA World Cup officially began only in 1982. She was known as Golden Shoe award at the time. It became known as the Golden Boot, its current version, only from 2010.

However, the top scorers of previous editions of the FIFA World Cup are also recognized as Golden Boot winners. The second top scorer at every soccer World Cup wins the Silver Boot, and the third top scorer walks away with the Bronze Boot.

Guillermo Stabile from Argentina is then first FIFA World Cup Golden Boot winnertop scorer at the 1930 FIFA World Cup in Uruguay, the inaugural edition, with eight goals.

Until 1994, the FIFA World Cup Golden Boot award could be shared among multiple top scorers.

The first time players were awarded the Golden Boot was the 1962 edition held in Chile. Six players – Florian Albert from Hungary, Valentin Ivanov from the Soviet Union, Garrincha and Vava from Brazil, Drazan Jerkovic from Yugoslavia and Leonel Sanchez from the hosts – scored four goals in total.

Beginning with the 1994 edition, FIFA introduced a tiebreaker system to determine the eventual winner.

The tie-breaking system stated that if two or more players finished with the same number of goals, the player with the most goals scored without penalty kicks wins the Golden Boot. If the players are still tied, the one with the most assists wins the prize.

However, this did not prevent Russian Oleg Salenko and Bulgarian Hristo Stoichkov from winning the Golden Boot in 1994, as both scored six goals and one assist each.

Oleg Salenko remains the only FIFA World Cup Golden Boot winner to date whose team was knocked out in the group stage in the year he won the prestigious award. Five of Salenko’s six goals came against Cameroon and still holds the record for the most goals scored by any player in a single FIFA World Cup match.

From 2006, a new layer was added to the tie-break rule. If the players could not be separated after meeting the first two criteria, the winner would be the one who played the fewest minutes.

Following the 2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa, the tie-break rule was once again used as Germany’s Thomas Muller, Spain’s David Villa, Wesley Sneijder of the Netherlands and Uruguay’s Diego Forlan each scored five goals.

Thomas Muller won the Golden Boot this year thanks to his three assists. The others had one assist each. Meanwhile, David Villa passed Wesley Sneijder for the Silver Boot as he played fewer minutes than the Dutchman.

France’s Just Fontaine won the Golden Boot in 1958 and his 13 goals in Sweden remain the most goals scored by a player in a single edition of the FIFA World Cup.

No player in the history of football has won the Golden Boot twice.

FIFA World Cup Golden Boot winners

NumberFIFA World Cup EditionTop scorer (country)Goals scored
1Uruguay 1930Guillermo Stabile (Argentina)8
2Italy 1934Oldrich Nejedly (Czech Republic)5
3France 1938Leonidas (Brazil)7
4Brazil 1950Ademir (Brazil)8
5Switzerland 1954Sandor Kocsis (Hungary)11
6Sweden 1958Just Fontaine (France)13
7Chile 1962Florian Albert (Hungary)

Valentin Ivanov (Soviet Union)

Garrincha (Brazil)

Wawa (Brazil)

Drazan Jerkovic (Yugoslavia)

Leonel Sanchez (Chile)

8England 1966Eusebio (Portugal)9
9Mexico 1970Gerd Müller (Germany)10
10West Germany 1974Grzegorz Lato (Poland)7
11Argentina 1978Mario Kempes (Argentina)6
12Spain 1982Paolo Rossi (Italy)6
13Mexico 1986Gary Lineker (England)6
14Italy 1990Salvatore Schillaci (Italy)6
15USA 1994Oleg Salenko (Russia)

Khristo Stoichkov (Bulgaria)

16France 1998Davor Suker (Croatia)6
17South Korea/Japan 2002Ronaldo (Brazil)8
18Germany 2006Miroslaw Klose (Germany)5
19South Africa 2010Thomas Muller (Germany)5
twentyBrazil 2014James Rodriguez (Colombia)6
21Russia 2018Harry Kane (England)6

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *