Home Sports Himanshu Mishra elected KFI President

Himanshu Mishra elected KFI President

KFI Board

Korfball Premier League (KPL) to be launched soon

Gurugram: The Korfball Federation of India (KFI) has elected Shri Himanshu Nath Mishra, as its new President at the Annual General Meeting (AGM) held in Courtyard Marriott, Gurugram today. Mr. Mishra, who served as the Secretary of KFI from 2016-2020, was elected unanimously to lead the administration of KFI, after Mr. Manuj Singh Chauhan’s tenure as KFI President came to an end this year.

All the posts of office bearers as well as the Executive Members were filled without the need for a contest and all the contestants were declared elected unopposed.

Mr. Mishra, in his inaugural address, spoke of his commitment to work towards the promotion of Korfball and towards increasing the reach of the sport in the country, improvement of infrastructure, coaching & training opportunities and bringing more and higher level of international competition into the country.

Mr. Mishra also expressed the hope of working closely with the Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports, Government of India for getting Recognition and financial aid and other support necessary for KFI initiatives.

“We shall be actively pursuing all possible financial and other support from the Government as well as Corporates to help get the Sport and all of KFI’s initiatives off the ground at the earliest”, said Mr. Mishra.

Whilst speaking on the current scenario of KFI National Championship calendar being on halt due to the on-going coronavirus pandemic, Mr. Mishra opined that, “In the short term, with support from all of the stakeholders, KFI must try and mitigate the COVID-19 impact on its Championship-structure and bring the sport back to pre-covid levels at the earliest possible. And from there on, we have to work hard on improving further in all aspects of the sport”.

Mr. Mishra signed off his address saying, “I am looking forward to starting close interactions with the Sports Ministry to secure their support in moving forward with our plans to help improve the reach and depth of game in India as well as the caliber of our korfball players in all age groups.

Mr. Abin Thomas V. takes over as Secretary General, KFI.

Secretary of the Korfball Association Kerala, Mr. Abin Thomas V., was elected as the Secretary General and West Bengal Korfball Association General Secretary Mr. Pijush Kanti Poddar, will serve as the Treasurer, KFI.

Mr. Thomas, after his election, said, “The biggest challenge in the short term would be to get the KFI recognition from Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports and tournament circuit back in action”. 

Below is the complete list of unanimously elected office bearers for the period 2020-2024: –

President – Mr. Himanshu Nath Mishra 

Sr. Vice President – Mr. Krishan Kumar Verma

Vice Presidents -Mr. B. R. Suman, Mr. P. K. Panda, Mr. I. P. Tikkiwal, Mr. Lalzirmawia Chhangte, Mrs. Sumer Roop Singh,        

Secretary General – Mr. Abin Thomas V.

Secretary – Mr. Ashok Kumar, Mr. K. Saravanan

Treasurer – Mr. Pijush Kanti Poddar

Joint Secretaries – Mr. Suman Kumar Nayak, Mr. L. B. Laxmikanth Rathod, Mr. Anand Prakash Pandey, Mr. Ravindra Kumar, Ms. Nidhi Shekhawat

Executive Member – Mr. K. Swaminathan, Mr. Hemanth Kumar, Mr. Amit Kumar, Mr. Pardeep Kumar Topple, Mr. Yumnam Mahendra Kapoor, Mr. Kishor Namdeorao Bagde, Mr. Chetan, Mr. Sudeep Manwatkar

Previous articleIndia Tigers Club Kettlebell Cup 2020 from 22 Aug.
Next articleAman Kumar Sharma named as Secretary-General IATSG


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here