Home Olympics Mary Kom, PV Sindhu amongst 10 Olympians chosen for IOA Athletes Commission

Mary Kom, PV Sindhu amongst 10 Olympians chosen for IOA Athletes Commission

Mary Kom, PV Sindhu among 10 Olympians selected for IOA Athletes Commission

Olympic medalists MC Mary Comm, PV Sindhu, Mirabai Chanu and Gagan Narang were among 10 outstanding athletes selected on Monday as members of the Indian Olympic Association (IOA) Athletes Commission.

All 10 selected members of the apex body, five men and the same number of women, won uncontested in the polls.

Winter Olympian Shiva Keshavantable tennis player Sharath Kamalwomen’s hockey captain Rani Rampalswordsman Bhavani Devirower Bajrang Lal and a former shot putter Om Prakash Singh Karhana are the other six members of the selected panel. They are all Olympians.

10 candidates submitted nominations for the same number of seats in parliament IOA Athletes Commission and Umesh Sinha, who is also a returning officer for the upcoming IOA elections, announced that they had all been elected unopposed.

Under the new IOA constitution, which was adopted on November 10, the athletic commission is to have equal representation of male and female members.

Shooter Abhinav Bindra, India’s first individual Olympic gold medalist, and Sardar Singh, former captain of the Indian men’s ice hockey team, complete the IOA’s 12-member Athlete Committee.

The duo will be given a seat at the table and voting rights through membership in the respective bodies of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) and the Olympic Council of Asia (OCA), respectively.

Abhinav Bindra was appointed a member of the IOC Athletes’ Commission in 2018 for an eight-year term, while Sardar Singh became a member of the OCA Athletes’ Commission in 2019 for a four-year term.

Two members of the Athletes Commission, one male and one female, will sit on the IOA Executive Board, which will be elected on December 10.

Previous articleFISU University World Cup 3×3 Basketball ready for entertainment in Istanbul
Next articleThe second edition of ISF She Runs will happen in Brussels


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here