Home Olympics National Wrestling Championships 2022: Meet all of the medal winners

National Wrestling Championships 2022: Meet all of the medal winners

National Wrestling Championships 2022: Meet all the medal winners

three days 2022 National Wrestling Championships ended on Friday at the Rajiv Gandhi Indoor Stadium in New Delhi Sarita Mor (59kg) i Sangeeta Phogat (62kg) retaining their titles on the final day of competition.

World Championships bronze medalist Sarita Mor defeated Simran in the women’s 59 kg freestyle final, while Sangeeta Phogat, wife of Tokyo Olympic medalist Bajrang Punia, defeated Delhi-based wrestler Sumitra for the gold medal.

The meeting in the Indian capital also marked the return of Sangeeta Phogat to the ring after six months. The youngest member of the famous Phogat sisters was sidelined due to an ACL injury.

On Wednesday, the opening day of the tournament, the U-23 world champion Aman Sehrawat he also successfully defended his gold medal in the men’s 57 kg final against Haryana’s Udit.

Meanwhile, Sahil from Punjab upset the medalist of the Commonwealth Games and the Asian Championships Satyawart Kadian in the men’s 97 kg to win the gold medal.

18-year-old Sagar Jaglan, bronze medalist at the U-20 World Cup, also made his debut for the senior national team with a gold medal after beating the experienced Narsingh Yadav in the final up to 74 kg.

In the Greco-Roman competition, 2019 Asian bronze medalist Gyanender defeated Vikram to defend his 60 kg title. Ankit Gulia (72 kg), Naveen (130 kg), Sajan Bhanwala (77 kg) and Rohit Dahiya (82 kg) also won gold medals.

Big names like Bajrang Punia, Ravi Kumar Dahiya, Vinesh Phogat, Sakshi Malik, Deepak Punia, Antim Panghal and others left the meeting for various reasons.

The results of the 2022 National Wrestling Championships will help the Wrestling Federation of India (WFI) select wrestlers for the national camp in preparation for the Asian Championships next March.

2022 National Wrestling Championship Medalists

Women’s free style

50kg: 1. Shivanee Pawar, 2. Nirmala Devi, 3. Neha and Neelam

55kg: 1. Anuj, 2. Aarati, 3. Manshi Yadav and Manpreet Kaur

53 kg: 1. Sushma Shokeen, 2. Pooja Jat, 3. Swati and Sheetal Tomar

57 kg: 1. Rajani, 2. Sito, 3. Rajani and Sonali

59 kg: 1. Sarita Mor, 2. Simran, 3. Bhagyashree and Pooja Yadav

62 kg: 1. Sangeeta Phogat, 2. Sumitra, 3. Sonika and Vaisnavi

65kg: 1. Bhateri, 2. Monia, 3. Monika and Jaspreet Kaur

68kg: 1. Radhika, 2. Pratiksha, 3. Anu and Nisha Dahiya

72 kg: 1. Ritika, 2. Nikki, 3. Rajani and N. Tombi Devi

76kg: 1. Kiran, 2. Bipasha, 3. Rani and Sudesh Kumari

Men’s free style

57kg: 1. Aman Sehrawat, 2. Udit, Rahul and Atish Todkar

61kg: 1. Pankaj, 2. Rahul, 3. Ravinder and Suraj Kakate

65kg: 1. Sujeet Kalkal, 2. Utkarsh Kale, 3. Jaskaran Singh and Ravinder

74kg: 1. Sagar Jaglan, 2. Narsingh Yadav, 3. Pritam and Yash Tushir

86kg: 1. Vicky, 2. Jonty Kumar, 3. Sanjeet and Rahul Rathi

92kg: 1. Prithviraj, 2. Parveen, 3. Parveen Kumar and Anil

97kg: 1. Sahil, 2. Satyawart Kadian, 3. Kapil and Sahil

125kg: 1st Dinesh, 2nd Akash Antil, 3rd Dharminder and Anirudh Kumar


55kg: 1. Manjeet, 2. L Sayon, 3. Rohit Yadav and Rupin

60kg: 1. Gyanender Gyani, 2. Vikram, 3. Saurabh and Sumit

63kg: 1. Sagar, 2. Nitin, 3. Sandeep and Umesh

67kg: 1. Karanjit, 2. Sandeep, 3. Deepak and Vinayak

72kg: 1. Ankit Gulia, 2. Anuj, 3. Vikas and Sameer

77kg: 1. Sajan Bhanwala, 2. Deepak, 3. Chhagan Meena and Karan

82kg: 1. Rohit Dahiya, 2. Sandeep, 3. Rahul and Neeraj

87kg: 1. Sunil Kumar, 2. Sushant, 3. Dhareppa and Sunny

97kg: 1. Ravi, 2. Narender Cheema, 3. Shailesh and Sonu

130kg: 1. Naveen, 2. Parvesh, 3. Tushar and Sahil

Previous articleIndian Athletics Calendar 2023: Full Schedule
Next articleWe’re celebrating Olympic Day 2021


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here