Home Olympics Sania Mirza’s Grand Slam wins: Full list

Sania Mirza’s Grand Slam wins: Full list

Sania Mirza's Grand Slam wins: Full list

Sania Mirza she is the only Indian ever to win tennis Grand Slam title.

After making her senior debut in 2001, Sania Mirza quickly rose through the rankings to become one of India’s top singles tennis players. However, she was unable to win any Grand Slam titles in women’s singles.

Tennis doubles, however, proved plentiful for the Indian tennis ace.

Between 2009 and 2016, Sania Mirza won six Grand Slam titles in doubles – three each in women’s doubles and mixed doubles. In 2015, she even became the number 1 in the world in women’s doubles.

Here is a list of all Sani Mirza’s tennis Grand Slam tournament victories.

Sani Mirza wins Grand Slam

Sania Mirza won her first Grand Slam title at the 2009 Australian Open when she won the mixed doubles crown with Mahesh Bhupathi. Sana was 26 at the time. The Indian tennis The pair did not drop a single set until the quarterfinals against Canadians Aleksandra Wozniak and Daniel Nestor. Sania Mirza and Mahesh Bhupathi defeated Israeli Andy Ram and French Nathalie Dechy 6-3, 6-1 in the final to win the title.

2012 French Open – Mixed doubles with Mahesh Bhupathi

Sania Mirza’s second major title was also in mixed doubles with Mahesh Bhupathi, this time at the 2012 French Open. Seeded seventh at Roland Garros, Sania Mirza and Mahesh Bhupathi went through the tournament without dropping a single set. The Indian duo defeated the Polish-Mexican pair Klaudia Jans-Ignacik and Santiago Gonzalez 7:6, 6:1 in the final, winning their second Grand Slam title.

2014 US Open – Mixed doubles with Bruno Soares

Sania Mirza won her third Grand Slam title in mixed doubles at the 2014 US Open with Bruno Soares of Brazil. Both were seeded #1 in the tournament. The Indian-Mexican pair defeated Abigail Spears of the USA and Santiago Gonzalez of Mexico in a tiebreak.

2015 Wimbledon – Women’s Doubles with Martina Hingis

Sania Mirza and American Martina Hingis, often referred to as Santina, took top places in the women’s doubles at Wimbledon 2015. The duo did not lose a single set in the tournament en route to the final. In the clash at the summit, Mirza-Hingis defeated the Russian duo Yekaterina Makarova and Yelena Vesnina 5:7, 7(7)-6(4), 7:5. In doing so, Mirza became the first Indian to win the women’s doubles tournament.

2015 US Open – Women’s Doubles with Martina Hingis

Santina’s great form continued until the next Grand Slam in 2015, where the duo won the US Open title, this time without dropping a set. In the final, top-seeded Sania Mirza and Martina Hingis defeated Australia’s Casey Dellacqua and Kazakhstan’s Yaroslava Shvedova 6:3, 6:3 and won the crown at Flushing Meadows.

2016 Australian Open – Women’s Doubles with Martina Hingis

Sania Mirza won her last Grand Slam at the 2016 Australian Open, her third consecutive major tournament win with Hingis. The Indo-American pair, seeded in Melbourne, won the title, beating Czech duo Andrea Hlavackova and Lucie Hradecka 7(7)-6(1), 6-3 in the final.

Previous articleRegister now to have the option to buy tickets for Paris 2024. Ends January 31, 2023.
Next articleLakshya Sen in quarters, Saina Nehwal outside


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here