Rani Nominated For Athlete Of The Year

Rani, a hockey player from India nominated

25 players from 25 sports in the race of The World Games Athlete of the Year 2019. Online voting from 8th January.

This is the 6th time that the IWGA is running the race for the Athlete of the Year. The award honours an athlete or a team for their outstanding performance in 2019, or for their social commitment or particularly fair behaviour.

This year, voting begins at 09:00 CET on 8th January and ends at 15:00 CET on Thursday 30th January 2020. As before there will be a fixed date, after which only the 10 candidates with most votes at that time will continue in the race, and this date is 20th January.

As in previous years, votes can be cast once in every 24 hours. As a new rule this year, all voters must vote for two candidates at the same time, giving one candidate two votes and another candidate one vote. It is hoped that this will bring The World Games family closer to each other, by introducing the athletes to more than just their ‘own’ fans. The athletes’ list on the voting page will be in random order, with the order changed each day, in order to avoid the same candidates always getting the second votes.

Last year, the Acrobatic Gymnastics couple Mariia Chernova & Georgii Pataraia (RUS) won the title with 159,348 votes, just ahead of the American Powerlifter Jennifer Thompson with 152,865 votes. All in all a record number of votes, 492,104, were cast in last year’s race.

Voting page, candidates and the voting rules

Candidates for The World Games Athlete of the Year 2019:

Aikido: Christian Tissier – FRA

Airsports: Wanraya Wannapong – THA

Archery: Sara Lopez – COL

Baseball – Softball: Stacey Porter – AUS

Beach Handball: Team Brazil – BRA

Bowling: Maria Rodriguez – COL

Canoe: Mads Pedersen – DEN

DanceSport: Armen Tsaturyan & Svetlana Gudyno – RUS

Finswimming: Pavel Kabanov – RUS

Fistball: Mateus Kuntzler – BRA

Floorball: U19 Team Czech Republic – CZE

Flying Disc: Team Finland – FIN

Gymnastics: Davide Donati & Michela Castoldi – ITA

Hockey: Rani – IND

Karate: Stanislav Horuna – UKR

Kickboxing: Vladislav Tuinov – RUS

Lacrosse: Madison Copeland – AUS

Muaythai: Jimmy Vienot – FRA

Orienteering: Tove Alexandersson – SWE

Powerlifting: Rhaea Stinn – CAN

Racquetball: Paola Longoria – MEX

Roller Sports: Katerina Mrazova- CZE

Sport Climbing: Janja Garnbret – SLO

Tug of war: Team Netherlands – NED

Waterski & Wakeboard: Nic Rapa – AUS