Home Olympics Who has won probably the most Australian Open titles?

Who has won probably the most Australian Open titles?

Who has won the most Australian Open titles?

The Australian Open 2023 was the 54th Grand Slam since the beginning of the Open era in 1969.

The Australian Open it is the first of four Grand Slams in a calendar year and attracts the largest crowds.

It was held on grass courts until 1987, after which it switched to hard courts in 1988 and has remained so to this day. Here is a breakdown of the most successful players at the Australian Open over the years.

Men’s Singles – Novak Djokovic

Serbian tennis player Novak Djokovic won the most men’s singles titles at the Australian Open with 10.

Novak Djokovic also has two hat-tricks in Australian Open titles, once from 2011-2013 and then an encore from 2019-2021.

The Serbian won his first title at the Australian Open in 2008, when he defeated Frenchman Jo-Wilfried Tsonga 4-6, 6-4, 6-3, 7-6.

Djokovic defeated Andy Murray in four Australian Open finals, and defeated Rafael Nadal in two finals.

Women’s Singles – Serena Williams

American legend Serena Williams she is the most successful women’s singles player at the Australian Open, having won seven trophies in the Open Era.

Serena Williams won the Australian Open for the first time as a 21-year-old in 2003, defeating her older sister Venus Williams 7-6, 3-6, 6-4.

Serena won consecutive Australian Opens in 2009 and 2010. In the final of the Australian Open, she defeated Venus Williams and Maria Sharapova twice.

Serena Williams last won the Australian Open in 2017 when she defeated Venus Williams 6-4, 6-4 in the final.

Men’s Doubles – Mike Bryan and Bob Bryan

American twins Mike Bryan and Bob Bryan together they won six Australian Open men’s doubles titles – the most in the Open era.

The Bryan twins won a hat-trick of titles between 2009 and 2011, after winning back-to-back titles in 2006 and 2007.

The 2006 triumph marked the Bryans’ first Australian Open title, where they defeated Martin Damm and Leander Paes 4-6, 6-3, 6-4 in the final.

The twins last won the Australian Open in 2013, beating Robin Haase and Igor Sijsling 6-3, 6-4.

Women’s doubles – Martina Navratilova

Legendary Martina Navratilova won eight amazing women’s doubles trophies at the Australian Open.

By the way, seven of them were won by Pam Shriver, all of which were from 1982-1989 consecutively.

Martina Navratilova won her first Australian Open women’s doubles title in 1980.

Navratilova and her partner Betsy Nagelsen defeated Ann Kiyomura and Candy Reynolds 6-4, 6-4 in the final.

In addition to doubles, Martina Navratilova also won three women’s singles crowns at the Australian Open – in 1981, 1983 and 1985.

Mixed Doubles – Jim Pugh/Leander Paes/Daniel Nestor/Barbora Krejcikova

As many as four different players – Jim Pugh, Daniel Nestor, Barbara Krejcikova and Leander Paes – won three Australian Open mixed doubles titles, the most in the Open era.

There was no mixed doubles event at the Australian Open between 1970 and 1986.

American Jim Pugh scored a hat-trick in mixed doubles at the Australian Open in 1988, 1989 and 1990. The first two were won by Jana Novotna, and the 1990 crown was won by Natalia Zvereva.

Leander Paes won his first Australian Open mixed tournament with Martina Navratilova in 2003. He then won in 2010 with Cara Black and 2015 with Martina Hingis.

Canadian Daniel Nestor won in 2007 (with Elena Likhovtseva), 2011 (with Katarina Srebotnik) and 2014 (with Kristina Mladenovic).

Czech Barbora Krejcikova scored a hat-trick in mixed doubles at the Australian Open in 2019-2021. She won over Rajeev Ram in 2019 and 2021, winning over Nikola Mekti? in 2020.

Most Australian Open titles

Previous articleDenmark defeated France to win their third consecutive world title
Next articleFlying Disc tops the IWGA Athlete and Team Awards


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here